Boards and Commissions:
Board/Commission:  Planning Commission

Contact Name: Dave Stensaas
Phone: 906-228-0425

Date Established:  Established by the City Commission on Jan. 13, 1946 pursuant to the provisions of Public Act 33 of 2008, and the City Charter, Section 2-13.  The Commission is responsible for developing and adopting a Master Plan for the City; reviews development proposals, subdivisions, and makes recommendations on zoning matters to the Commission.  The Commission also has review authority over the six-year Capital Outlay Budget through Section 7-2 of the City Charter.


Number of Members & Term of Office:  Nine members serving three-year terms; one member of the Planning Commission shall also serve on the BZA, per Public Act 110 of 2006. 


Meetings Held:  Meetings are held the first and third Tuesday of each month at 6:00 p.m. in Commission Chambers; however, when August Primary Elections and the November General Elections are held, the group meets the second and third Tuesday of the month.  No meetings held on legal holidays.

Board Seats: 

Board SeatTerm StartTerm EndTitleBoard MemberAppointed By
PC 102/15/201902/15/2022 Premeau, Wayne 
PC 502/15/201902/15/2022 Brooks, Erick 
PC 302/15/202002/15/2023Planning Commission Appt. to BZADunn, Michael 
PC 402/15/202002/15/2023 Mittlefehldt, Sarah  
PC 602/15/202002/15/2023ChairCardillo, Joy 
PC 212/03/202002/15/2022   
PC 802/15/202102/15/2024Vice ChairLarson, Michael 
PC 902/15/202102/15/2024 Andres, Aaron